European teams dominate solar car challenge

October 21, 2019 //By Nick Flaherty
The Dutch Green Lightning solar car in the 2019 Bridgestone World Solar Challenge (BWSC) in Australia.
Solar car designs from European research groups have dominated the 2019 Bridgestone World Solar Challenge (BWSC) in Australia.

The Challenger solar car class in the competition was won by the Agoria team from Belgium, with their Bluepoint design travelling 3020km in five days. The Cruiser class was won by Solar Team Eindhoven from the Netherlands. Team Sonnenwagen Aachen from Germany also took two awards.

The challenge, held every two years to examine the state of the art in solar powered cars, brought together 98 teams from around the world. Bridgestone will continue to sponsor the event until 2030.

The Cruiser event is for efficient, practical solar cars with two or more seats. Third place went to the IVE Engineering Solar Car Team from Hong Kong, second to Sunswift from the University of New South Wales in Australia and the winner was Solar Team Eindhoven.

In the Challenger Class for fast single-seat solar car designs, Agoria beat the University of Michigan Solar Car Team and the Tokai University Solar Car Team from Japan with an average speed of 86.6km/h.

The CSIRO Technical Innovation Award went to the Kogakuin University Solar Team from XXX while Team Sonnenwagen Aachen won the Safety Award.

This year also saw the first Excellence in Engineering Award, sponsored by Flinders University which was won by the Top Dutch Solar Racing team, while the David Fewchuck Spirit of the Event Award went to the Aachen team.

The 2019 Smart Grid Pitch Competition was won by Solar Team Eindhoven.

Related solar car articles 

Vous êtes certain ?

Si vous désactivez les cookies, vous ne pouvez plus naviguer sur le site.

Vous allez être rediriger vers Google.